Year of Establishment: 1972                                 

                           The department of Physics was established in the year 1972 under the dynamic leadership of Late Prof. Suresh Chandra, an eminent Materials Scientist and founder head of the department; Late Prof. R. K. Thakur, a renowned Astrophysicist; Late Dr. S. Guha, a renowned Plasma Physicist. The department was renamed as School of Studies in Physics & Astrophysics in the year 2009. Since its inception, the department has been imparting quality education at PG level and advanced research in frontline areas of Physics with major focus on Solid State/Condensed Matter Physics/Materials Science and Astronomy & Astrophysics (A&A), so that students of this region get academically benefited at par with any leading National/International institutions. It is worth mentioning that Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University is one amongst only few Indian Universities, and the one in the new state of Chhattisgarh, where teaching and research in Astronomy and Astrophysics (A&A) is being carried out in the Physics Department. In spite of several financial constraints, basic infrastructural facilities for advance level research in the above mentioned front line areas have been created. This helps the students of this department to get a wide exposure to the research activities at par with National/International level. The sincere and dedicated efforts of the faculty members over the years played key role in creating conducive atmosphere for the quality education and research in Physics. The students passed out from this department made their identities recognized by obtaining distinctive positions at National as well as International arenas. This has subsequently earned a high level of academic reputation worldwide. The academic achievements of SoS in Physics & Astrophysics could very well be adjudged in terms of publications in research journals of International/National repute and the prestigious/distinctive positions acquired by alumni at various International/National level. The department was recognized as Center of Excellence (1987‐1992) by M.P. Uchcha Shiksha Anudan Ayog, Bhopal. Besides, obtaining substantial financial grants from different National funding agencies through research proposals submitted by individual faculty member, department has been awarded DST support under FIST program for two levels i.e. for the duration: 2003 to 2008 with the grant of rupees 35 lac; 2013 to 2018 with grant of rupees 97 lac.


The second DST FIST program has been approved to initiate two-semester specialization course   on Physics of Nanomaterials for M.Sc student. This has been commenced from the academic session 2016-2017.


In recognition of the significant contributions made by this department in the field of Astronomy & Astrophysics, Inter‐University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune established its IUCAA Resource Center (IRC) since 1999 for the promotion of teaching and research in A&A in this region.

Postal Address
  • Head,
  • School of Studies in Physics and Astrophysics
  • Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University
    Amanaka G.E. Road,
    Raipur - 492010
    Chhattisgarh, India

(C) Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University, Amanaka, GE Road, Raipur 492010. All rights reserved.

Best view in Mozilla Firefox 21.0 & upgrade versions